Nillumbik Shire Heritage
Montsalvat is a unique venture for the visual and performing arts. Galleries, exhibitions and resident artisits. Historic gardens and buildings, reminiscent of provincial France. Regular festivals, concerts and public events.
7 Hillcrest Avenue
Tel: 03 9439 7712
Melways Ref: 22A8
GALLERY SPACE AVAILABLE
We are currently accepting Expressions of Interest from established and emerging artists who wish to put on exhibitions in our two main galleries. The Barn is the major gallery, with the Long Gallery ideal for solo or community-based exhibitions.
Limited places are still available.
For further information contact Simone de Haan; firstname.lastname@example.org Tel 9439 7712
Heritage | Antiques
Click here to download a heritage brochure
The Nillumbik region is rich in history, and to complement this, there are many antique stores in and near Nillumbik. You can spot that special antique piece that you have always searched for - or maybe buy yourself a small keepsake or memento.
Watsons Creek Antiques & Cafe, www.watsonscreekantiques.com.au
765 Eltham-Yarra Glen Rd, Kangaroo Ground, Melway 272 C5
t: 03 9719 7518, f: 9719 7310, m: 0418 170 180
With a broad knowledge of timber and a love of unique pieces, John and Joanne Van Eeden, of Watsons Creek Antiques and Cafe, boast a wide range of furniture from all over the world. In addition to specialising in Edwardian and Victorian furniture, Watsons Creek Antiques offers a large selection of clocks, china, glassware, jewellery and crystal alongside homewares and gifts chosen to complement the ambience that is Watsons Creek.
Heritage | Museums
Andrew Ross Museum
Post Office, Kangaroo Ground
t: 03 9712 0614
The Andrew Ross Museum is located in the former teachers' residence of Kangaroo Ground Primary School, an 1870s heritage listed building. The theme of the Museum is the history of Kangaroo Ground, as reconstructed through the 1851-1876 diary of Andrew Ross. Public access to the Museum is on Sundays 2 pm - 4 pm, and Thursdays 9 am - 12 noon, except Christmas Break, or by appointment.
Yarrambat Heritage Museum
t: 03 9436 1356
The Yarrambat Heritage Museum is located at Yarrambat Park at the site of an old 1850s wood shed and includes an old school and a historic gold battery. Public access to the Yarrambat Heritage Museum is by appointment.
Heritage | Societies
There are nine historical societies and organisations in the Shire of Nillumbik which celebrate the history of individual townships and districts. These volunteer organisations play an important role in preserving the unique heritage of our Shire. Many maintain local history centres in buildings from the 19th century. Some groups have been operating for over 20 years while others have only recently formed.
You can visit any of the local history centres and examine large collections of historic photographs, research family histories and see displays that map the histories of the Shire including aboriginal, art, settler, and gold. You can take a tour of the Queenstown cemetery, be locked up in the old Eltham goal or join in one of the many guided walks conducted across the region.
Check out the Nillumbik Historical Socity blog page
This will be used in conjunction with their newsletter to provide updates for upcoming events and other information about the Society.
Andrew Ross Museum Inc – Kangaroo Ground
Andrew Ross Museum, Kangaroo Ground Primary School (Melways Ref: 271 E11 )
The Andrew Ross Museum is located in the old teachers’ residence of Kangaroo Ground Primary School, an 1870’s heritage listed building. (opposite the Kangaroo Ground General Store).
The Museum was founded in 1993 and has maintained a proud record of service to the Nillumbik community. It is staffed entirely by volunteers. In August 2003 attained its goal of full Accreditation with Museums Australia (Victoria) to join a small group of other such institutions in the Yarra Valley to have climbed such heights.
The primary focus of the museum is the archiving, preservation and display of Kangaroo Ground’s heritage. A large photographic collection, together with numerous documents and research information, can be viewed by the community. There are various books for sale, including publications by the Museum and others of the surrounding area.
The Andrew Ross Museum is open to the public every Thursday 9.00 am – 12.00 noon and every Sunday (except over Christmas) from 2.00 pm – 4.00 pm. Other times by appointment.
Contact: Martha Wike
Phone: 9710 1707
Eltham District Historical Society Inc
Eltham Local History Center, 728 Main Rd, Eltham (Melways Ref: 21 J7)
The Eltham District Historical Society has its main area of interest in the Eltham district extending from Lower Plenty and Montmorency to Kangaroo Ground. It also maintains an interest in the former Shire of Eltham and holds memorabilia from the former Eltham Shire Council.
The Eltham Local History Centre in the former Eltham Police Residence (1860) contains the Society’s extensive collection of local historical records relating to Eltham and the former Shire of Eltham. It in includes many photos and maps. Access is also available to the adjoining old Court House. Open by appointment.
Public meetings are held at least six times each year with special guest speakers.
The Society holds regular Heritage walks. The walks involve about 2 hours easy walking with stops to discuss points of interest or look at old photos. The walks alternate between two main routes with possible other variations. Bookings required.
Contact: Russell Yeoman
Phone: 9439 9717
Clcik here to download an Eltham and District Historical Society Program for 2012
LOWER PLENTY RIVER RED GUM WALK
The predominant feature of this walk in the Bonds Road area, Lower Plenty is the large number of magnificent old River Red Gums that line the route. The walk also includes parts of the historic Cleveland Estate and Henry Stooke’s “Rosehill” homestead as described in the separate historical article in this Newsletter. From the southern part of Cleveland Avenue there are extensive views across and along the Yarra Valley.
This walk will start at 2pm on Saturday 5th November at the corner of Bonds Road and Stawell Road (Melway Ref. 33 B1). It is about 3 km. in length and will take about two hours. Parking is available in Montpelier Drive.
This free walk is open to Society members and the general public. The phone number for contact on the day is 0409 021 063.
ELTHAM CEMETERY VISIT
The Eltham Cemetery is the custodian of more than 150 years of Eltham’s history. Harry Gilliam’s research on the cemetery includes information on Eltham pioneers from those early years, as well as details of interesting and important locals buried there in more recent times.
Harry will lead a further tour of grave sites on Sunday 13th November. It will include many sites not visited on previous cemetery visits.
The tour will start at 2.00 pm. Enter the cemetery from Mt Pleasant Road (Melway Ref. 21 K9) and proceed to the car park near the south western corner. This tour is free and is open to the general public as well as Society members.
Hurstbridge and District Local History Group
Allwood House, cnr Arthurs Creek and Heidelberg-Kinglake Roads, Hurstbridge (Melways Ref: 185 K8 )
The Hurstbridge and District Local History Group is located at Allwood Neighbourhood House, which is a mini history precinct on its own – the house, garden, old bank building and lock up are all accessible to the public on event days or by request.
The group has a good collection of local history – in particular social history and these are accessible to the local community and visitors alike who have a passion for the history of the area or wish to research. The group also has a collection of found objects, items belonging to Henry Hurst and some items from the Caledonia Gold fields (on loan from collector). The group also holds a range of publications including local history books.
Hurstbridge Township itself has managed to retain many of its original buildings and its rural township atmosphere. The Hurstbridge Heritage Trail can be followed if you wish to explore these in detail.
Contact: Pam Lawson
Phone: 9718 2271
Nillumbik Historical Society Inc
Ellis Cottage, Memory Lane, Diamond Creek (Melways Ref: 12 F5)
Nillumbik Historical Society are custodians of the historic Ellis Cottage which commenced building in late 1865 by William Ellis. He used local uncut stone which was easily available and cost nothing. The stone was mortared together to produce walls some 30 cm. thick. The Nillumbik Historical Society accepted responsibility for the cottage’s development in 1989. The society houses a large collection of historic photographs and documents of pioneering families from Diamond Creek and its surrounds.
Public meetings are held on the first Wednesday of every second month, beginning February each year. Other events are held during the year such as an Autumn Festival and Heritage walks.
Ellis Cottage is open the first Sunday of every month, except January, from 2pm to 4 pm or by appointment.
Contact: Ron Gordon
Phone: 9438 3441
Plenty Historical Society Inc
The Plenty Historical Society Inc. is a group which aims:-
To create, develop and maintain a sustainable and successful organisation to preserve the history, natural environment and culture of Plenty and districts and undertake projects designed to protect and preserve significant areas of heritage in Plenty.
To continue to develop and expand the historical research activities undertaken by members of the Society and to establish a comprehensive inventory of historical, cultural and environmental items unique to Plenty and districts.
To identify significant sites and features and make application recommendations to Nillumbik Shire Council and inclusion in the Shire Heritage overlay.
Meetings are held bi-monthly at the Plenty CFA – first Thursday in the month, commencing February. The meetings are open to the public and special guest speakers attend throughout the year.
Contact: Kerry Fitzmaurice on mailto:email@example.com
or Neisha Forbes or Alan Pearce , phone: 0438 793 766 or 9435 9117
Queenstown Cemetery Trust
Queenstown Cemetery (Melways Ref: 264 H3 )
The Queenstown Cemetery (1861-1981) is located at 70 Smiths Gully Road, Smiths Gully.
It is a pioneer cemetery established during the gold rush of the 1850’s at the site of the first mining village of the Caledonia Diggings. The Trust administers the cemetery with the support of The Friends and Relations of Queenstown Cemetery and endeavours to maintain and preserve it for future generations.
Heritage walks of the Queenstown Pioneer Cemetery can be arranged by appointment. Regular working bees are held at the cemetery. Historical research workshops and social activities are also held. All funds raised and donations made are used for cemetery restoration.
Contact: Elizabeth Wykes
St Andrews/Queenstown Historical Society
St Andrews Primary School, Kinglake/Heidelberg Road St Andrews (Melways 250 E10)
The St Andrews/Queenstown Historical Society, aims to share and collect information on families and their lifestyle, in any time period in the St Andrews District. The Society manages historic photographs and family history collections.
Meetings are held at St Andrews Primary School every second month on the last Thursday of the month at 7.30pm Alternate months are a working bee (last Thursday of the month), sorting through our collection. No meetings are held in December.
St Andrews Day is celebrated on 30 November at the St Andrews Hotel at 6.30pm– the Scottish flag is hung, with lots of eating and drinking. Everyone is welcome.
Contact: Gaye Ponting
Phone: 9438 5856
Warrandyte Historical Society
Warrandyte Historical Museum, 111 Yarra Street Warrandyte (Melways Ref 23 E11)
Warrandyte Historical Society aims to preserve and display the history of Warrandyte. The Society runs the Warrandyte Historical Museum which is located in the restored Post Office (1875). The Museum is categorised into four sections – gold, art, aboriginal and domestic and houses a large collection of historic photos. The Museum is open Saturday and Sunday 2pm – 5pm (Summer) and 1pm-4pm (Winter) or by appointment. Admission is free.
Monthly meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 8pm and the AGM is held on 3rd Sunday in July.
Contact: Alan Alder
Phone: 9844 3237
Yarrambat Historical Society Inc
Yarrambat Heritage Museum, Yarrambat Park, Yan Yean Rd, Yarrambat (Melways Ref: 184 F5)
The aim of the Yarrambat Historical Society is to preserve and perpetuate the heritage of the Yarrambat community for future generations. Meetings are held from 7.45 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of most months at the Yarrambat CFA building, Ironbark Rd., Yarrambat.
The Society is in the process of developing the Yarrambat Heritage Museum on 2.5 hectares of land at Yarrambat Park. The feature exhibit is a fully operational gold-battery (gold-bearing ore crusher) re-located from the Golden King mine in North Oatlands Rd, Yarrambat. (The Golden King mine ceased operation in 1984.) Also featured are the "Len Young Woolshed" with history dating back almost 150 years when the original building was a Wesleyan Church and an original classroom from Yarrambat Primary School. The Museum is open on designated Open Days and by appointment.
Contact: John Szekfy or Brendon Smith
Phone: 9435 5320 9436 1356
Heritage | Nature Walks
Eltham Heritage Walks
Free two hour guide walks visiting sites of historical or heritage interest around Eltham are held throughout the year. Themes include early history, the arts and mudbrick buildings. For further information phone 9439 9717.
Smiths Gully to St. Andrews
Contact the Nillumbik Tourism Association on 1300 66 00 72 to obtain a copy of the Histrorical Nature Walk which will explain historical events, area description, and the types of flora and fauna for this region. Designed and produced by Susan Ly, by the Departmet of Land Information, 1997
Ye Old Yarrambat Walk
Starting at the Yarrambat General Store, this comprehensive walk will take you past a historic oak tree, school house site, Yarrambat Post Office (commenced operations prior to 1990) and many other old buildings and items of interest. Call 1300 66 00 72 for a copy of the map.
Hurstbridge Heritage Trail
Take a walk through the Historic township of Hurstbridge, just 50 minutes from the CBD and at the end of the Hurstbridge Train line. Maps and signposted areas will guide you through the town and highlight areas of interest. Copies of the map are available from the Nillumbik Tourism Association, telephone: 1300 66 0072.
Arthurs Creek Garden Walk
Held every year, the Arthurs Creek Garden Walk encompasses seven fascinating gardens. For further details phone 9714 8496 or 9714 8270.
Heritage | Mudbrick
The Shire of Nillumbik today is a collection of townships, each with its own identity and unique heritage, set amongst bushland and rolling hills. Nestled amongst that landscape are striking mudbrick buildings that exude simple elegance and blend with the environment to provide an unforgettable ambience.
Alistair Knox designed and built many Eltham houses in his favoured mudbrick in the post-World War II period, which became the typical Eltham building style. Alistair was able to do this thanks largely to a relaxation of local building regulations.
Some of the more famous mudbrick buildings in Nillumbik include the Eltham Library, Panther Place in Eltham and Dunmoochin, the artists colony in Cottles Bridge, which is an eclectic collection of mudbrick homes, studios and cottages still serving as an artist's retreat. The main house was tragically destroyed by fire in late 2001.
The Nillumbik Mudbrick Association (NMA) was formed in June 2004 with the principle aim to protect and promote the mudbrick building industry and to recognise and promote the rich heritage that the industry has given to the Nillumbik area and wider community. For further information visit the Nillumbik Mudbrick Association website.